My Journey from Aspiring Pharmacist to Passionate Programmer: Embracing Tech and Finding My Path

·

2 min read

My Journey from Aspiring Pharmacist to Passionate Programmer: Embracing Tech and Finding My Path

Introduction

As a child, my dream was to become a pharmacist, but life had other plans. I ended up studying biochemistry in school. However, my interest in programming started to emerge through watching sci-fi movies. Despite knowing very little about it or how to pursue it, I was fascinated by the outcomes of those seemingly meaningless scripts.

Shift in Priorities

When I had my first baby, I made the decision to stay at home and care for my child myself. It was challenging for me to entrust my baby to someone else's care, especially without any blood relation. During this time, I began exploring online for coding schools but couldn't find one that fully satisfied me.

Discovering DABA Community

In 2021, my husband suggested that I join a community called DABA, founded by Mr. Chris Ani. He was drawn to the founder's energy and believed it would be an excellent place for me to start my tech career, considering my eagerness to learn and grow. To join the community, I had to register for a course, and although programming wasn't available, I decided to enroll in a UI/UX design course.

A Turning Point

Enrolling in the UI/UX design course turned out to be one of the best decisions I've made. It provided the foundation upon which I stand today.

Fueling the Desire to Become a Programmer

While in the program, I connected with fellow students who were already junior frontend developers. Our conversations fueled my hunger to become a programmer. However, I knew I needed guidance and a structured approach to avoid learning blindly. Just as there are hierarchical steps in other skills, such as design, I recognized the importance of understanding core basics before delving into app interface design.

A Life-Changing Tweet

One fateful day, I stumbled upon a tweet that changed everything. The tweet mentioned an opportunity with an imminent deadline. Without hesitation, I expressed my interest, and to my delight, I found myself listed as the first winner.

This marked the beginning of my programming career, and I owe it all to the incredible Mrs. Arit Amana, founder of ourtimefortech.org, who became my mentor.

Embracing the Learning Phase

I am currently in the learning phase of my programming journey, and I plan to document my experiences and milestones here.

Conclusion

Thank you to everyone who took the time to read my story. I sincerely appreciate your support and encouragement.